The Kennedy Center in Washington has announced this year's recipients of the Kennedy Honors.

Two popular music acts are included this year, the Eagles and Carole King, along with producer/director George Lucas, Boston Pops conductor Seiji Ozawa and actresses Rita Moreno and Cicely Tyson.

Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein said, "The Kennedy Center Honors recognizes the extraordinary and unparalleled talents of individuals whose impact and genius have left an indelible mark on civilization. Quite simply, our Honorees represent the voices, soundtracks, and stories of our personal lives and memories. The music of the Eagles has endured as the quintessential American rock and roll sound for generations; Carole King's heartfelt lyrics and tunes are woven throughout the tapestry of American music; George Lucas' films have enriched our world with stories of epic adventure; Rita Morenos iconic spitfire roles are embedded in the heart of American culture; Seiji Ozawa's artistic leadership as a conductor has set a new standard for orchestras around the world; and Cicely Tyson's range of strong female roles on stage and screen have broken boundaries for women of color."

Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter added "When I look at this year's outstanding slate of Honorees, I am struck by a powerful common theme - artists as history-makers, artists who defy both convention and category. Each Honoree and their career-spanning achievements exemplify a rare quality of artistic bravery. They have pushed the limits of their gifts as musicians, actors, and storytellers to inspire generations of Americans and those around the world. Their individual paths to excellence are inspirational and their contributions to the fabric of American culture are equally permanent and timeless."

The awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, December 5 and broadcast on CBS on Tuesday, December 29 at 9 PM EST.

Past popular musical recipients of the Kennedy Center Honors:

1981 - Count Basie
1982 - Benny Goodman
1983 - Frank Sinatra
1984 - Lena Horne
1985 - Bob Hope
1986 - Ray Charles
1987 - Perry Como, Sammy Davis, Jr.
1989 - Harry Belafonte
1990 - Dizzy Gillespie
1991 - Roy Acuff
1992 - Lionel Hampton
1994 - Aretha Franklin, Pete Seeger
1995 - B.B. King
1996 - Benny Carter, Johnny Cash
1997 - Bob Dylan
1998 - Willie Nelson
1999 - Stevie Wonder
2000 - Chuck Berry
2001 - Quincy Jones
2002 - Paul Simon
2003 - James Brown, Loretta Lynn
2004 - Elton John, John Williams
2005 - Tony Bennett, Tina Turner
2006 - Dolly Parton, Smokey Robinson, Andrew Lloyd Webber
2007 - Diana Ross, Brian Wilson
2008 - George Jones, Barbra Streisand, the Who
2009 - Dave Brubeck, Bruce Springsteen
2010 - Merle Haggard, Paul McCartney
2011 - Neil Diamond, Yo-Yo Ma, Sonny Rollins
2012 - Buddy Guy, Led Zeppelin
2013 - Herbie Hancock, Billy Joel, Carlos Santana
2014 - Al Green, Sting
2015 - The Eagles, Carole King