Hot Chip have released a video for new single 'Started Right', taken from the band's critically applauded new album, Why Make Sense?

The new video ' directed by Rollo Jackson ' finds 'Started Right's deliciously warped funk brought to life through its spiritual calling ' karaoke ' as Alexis Taylor and Joe Goddard's tender-hearted lyrics find a new spotlight through the videos colourful visuals.

Following a sold out UK and European tour, the band are currently wrapping up their North American dates which included two sold out nights at New York's Webster Hall where the band were joined by the likes of David Byrne, Nancy Whang (LCD Soundsystem) and Sinkane. The band will also continue their run of summer festivals following a lauded headline slot on the West Holts stage at Glastonbury.

On top of the band's live dates, front man Alexis Taylor has also announced his only solo show of the year playing the Queen Elizabeth Hall as part of David Byrne's Meltdown Festival on August 24th as a co-headline with 'The Sand Man' himself - the great Alabama artist Lonnie Holley. Taylor will also be performing as part of the William Onyeabor 'Atomic Bomb' live show at Meltdown on August 20th.

Forthcoming Hot Chip live dates are as follows with UK dates in bold, including a recently confirmed second headline date at London's O2 Brixton Academy on Friday October 23rd. Support on the October UK healine dates comes from new Domino signing Georgia (all dates except London), Lonelady (London, 22nd October only):

Fri 21 Aug - UK, Crickhowell, Green Man Festival
Sat 22 Aug - Netherlands, Biddinghuizen, Lowlands Festival
Sat 29 Aug - Switzerland, Zurich, Zurich Openair Festival
Sun 30 Aug - France, Paris, Rock En Seine Festival
Sat 5 Sept - Ireland, Stradbally, Electric Picnic
Sat 12 Sept - Germany, Berlin, Lollapalooza Berlin
Tues 13 Oct - UK, Bristol, O2 Academy (w/ Georgia)
Wed 14 Oct - UK, Portsmouth, Pyramid Centre (w/ Georgia)
Fri 16 Oct - UK, Glasgow, Barrowland (w/ Georgia) (SOLD OUT)
Sat 17 Oct - UK, Manchester, Albert Hall (w/ Georgia) (SOLD OUT)
Sun 18 Oct - UK, Leeds, Beckett University (w/ Georgia)
Tue 20 Oct - UK, Nottingham, Rock City (w/ Georgia)
Wed 21 Oct - UK, Cambridge, Corn Exchange (w/ Georgia)
Thu 22 Oct - UK, London, O2 Brixton Academy (w/ Lonelady) (SOLD OUT)
Fri 23 Oct ' UK, London, O2 Brixton Academy
Fri 27 Nov ' Brazil, Rio De Janeiro, Sacadura 154
Sat 28 Nov ' Brazil, São Paulo, Sonar São Paulo
Tue 1 Dec ' Uruguay, Montevideo, Montevideo
Thu 3 Dec ' Argentina, Buenos Aires, Sónar Buenos Aires
Sat 5 Dec ' Chile, Santiago, Sónar Santiago
Mon 7 Dec ' Colombia, Bogotá, Sónar Bogotá

Tickets on sale now at

Why Make Sense? was recorded in Oxfordshire and London and produced by Hot Chip with Mark Ralph. Due to a unique and bespoke printing technique which has never been used before, the new album Why Make Sense? will come in one of 501 different colours making every cover unique. View the artwork, designed by Nick Relph, HERE (GIFs available here: small | large).

Why Make Sense? tracklisting is as follows:
1. Huarache Lights
2. Love Is The Future
3. Cry For You
4. Started Right
5. White Wine and Fried Chicken
6. Dark Night
7. Easy To Get
8. Need You Now
9. So Much Further To Go
10. Why Make Sense?

Separate EP tracklisting is as follows:
1. Burning Up
2. Separate
3. Move With Me
4. Re-harmonize